Gugudan Members Profile & Biography

gugudan members
Years Active
2016 - Present
Mimi, Hana, Haebin, Nayoung, Sejeong, Sally, Soyee, Mina
Fandom Name
Dear Friend

GUGUDAN (also stylized as gu9udan or gx9) is an all-female group formed by Jellyfish Entertainment in 2016. The group consists of nine members – Hana, Mimi, Haebin, Nayoung, Sejeong, Sally, Soyee, Mina, and Hyeyeon. Nayoung, Sejeong, and Mina were all part of the Mnet survival program Produce 101 in 2016, where Sejeong finished second. Gugudan officially debuted on June 28, 2016 with their mini album Act. 1 The Little Mermaid and the title track “Wonderland”.

Formation and official debut

In January 2016, Nayoung, Sejeong, and Mina were introduced to the public as the first female trainees of Jellyfish Entertainment on the survival reality program Produce 101. They competed against 98 other contestants in the show to be part of the 11-member girl group that would debut and promote for one year under YMC Entertainment. Sejeong and Mina finished 2nd and 9th respectively and were able to debut as members of I.O.I in May 2016

After their stint on Produce 101 and while in contract with I.O.I and YMC Entertainment, Sejeong and Mina were reported to be debuting in a three-member girl group in June, which Jellyfish Entertainment denied early on. Instead, the agency announced that the two trainees will be part of the company’s first girl group.

Despite being on contract with YMC Entertainment, the girls were allowed to do activities under their respective companies while I.O.I was on break or while they are promoting in sub-units. So, there were no complications with Sejeong and Mina’s debut with a different group.

On June 10, Jellyfish Entertainment confirmed that Nayoung will also be part of the upcoming girl group, which, on June 13, was revealed to be composed of nine members. On June 17, the label announced the group’s name – Gugudan.

For their debut, the group was confirmed to be doing a mermaid concept, with the highlight medley of their mini album released on June 24.

The group officially debuted on June 28, 2016 with the mini album Act. 1 The Little Mermaid, with the title track “Wonderland”. They held a debut showcase at the Yes24 Live Hall on the same day.

At the end of the year, Gugudan participated in Jellyfish Entertainment’s annual winter project, Jelly Christmas 2016, alongside labelmates Seo In Guk, VIXX, Park Yoon Ha, Park Jung Ah, Kim Gyu Sun, Kim Ye Won, and Jiyul. They released the digital single “Falling” on December 13.

On December 17, the group announced their official fan club name – Dear Friend – through their V app channel.

gugudan blue

 2017: Act. 2 Narcissus and Act. 3 Chococo Factory

Jellyfish Entertainment announced in February 2017 that Gugudan is preparing for their first comeback since debut. They are reportedly gearing for their second mini album, Act. 2 Narcissus, with the lead single “A Girl Like Me” released one February 27. 

On November 8, they returned with the single album, Act. 3 Chococo Factory, featuring the track “Chococo”. Before the release of the album, it was announced that member Soyee will be on hiatus in order to fully recover from a shoulder injury she’s had prior to debut.

2018 to present: Act. 4 Cait Sith

Gugudan released their second single album, Act. 4 Cait Sith on February 1, with the title track “The Boots”.

On May 17, it was announced that youngest member Hyeyeon will be on a temporary hiatus from all group activities due to health issues.


Gugudan 5959

Jellyfish Entertainment formed their first sub-unit for Gugudan in July 2017. Composed of the two youngest members, Mina and Hyeyeon, Gugudan 5959 (spelled as Ogu-ogu) was formed. The name “5959” refers to their represented number in the group, with Hyeyeon representing the number 5, while Mina represents the number 9. 5959 released their debut single “Ice Chu” on August 10, 2017.

Gugudan SEMINA

In June 2018, Jellyfish Entertainment introduced another subunit for Gugudan – SEMINA – composed of members Sejeong, Mina, and Nayoung. They debuted with their self-titled single album on July 10, 2018, which they have promoted on various music shows.

What is Gugudan’s Fandom named?

There fandom is called Dear Friend.

Kpopgun is dedicated to the incredible fashions coming out of Kpop.

More Stories
blackpink members
BLACKPINK Members Profile